The Notorious Salo – Banned Again

July 18, 2008 at 6:38 pm 3 comments

This site is no longer being updated. You can check out my new page at www.notfilmschool.com

Refused Classification reports that Pier Paolo Pasolini’s film Salo has been banned yet again by the wise masters at the Office of Film and Literature Classification.

Having viewed the film myself (it’s freely available at a certain public library, shh…) I have to say there really is no reason this film could not be given an R18+ certificate.

The scenes I found most objectionable were in the “Circle of Shit” sequence, but you can’t ban a work of art purely based on whether or not the scenes depicted are really, really gross. While I wasn’t a fan of the film I don’t think anyone who has the intellectual fortitude to sit and watch a movie with subtitles would find themselves irreversibly damaged by the time the credits roll.

It’s been released in Britain by the prestigious British Film Institute, along with essays on its artistic merits and the censorship troubles it has faced across the world. It’s sad to see that Australia is still stuck in the 1950s when it comes to seeing censorship of art as acceptable, though it probably wasn’t the best idea to submit the film for classification this close to the Bill Henson episode.

If this is all too much for you to handle, it might be better to relax and play some pokies online.

Entry filed under: film. Tags: , , .

Hollowmen – Episode 2 The Australian New Wave

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Manga!  |  July 26, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Let them eat shit!

    I did not appoint or elect the people who are deciding what I should be allowed to see. I do not consent to their making decisions for me. I object to the subjugation of my right to engage freely with culture by people whose opinions are of no consequence to me.

    Again I say: Let them eat shit!

    Reply
  • 2. S  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:14 am

    ^ Very well said!

    Having just watched this, I can certainly see why it was censored. However, preventing informed adults from viewing films designed by talented film makers doesn’t seem very sensible.

    It can be obtained via the wonderful ‘freaklyflicks’ organisation. Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 3. Ashish  |  January 3, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    That was not objectionable at all. It is ok and those morons should understand this

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Art & Artist Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

